Key Contacts

Head of School: Euan Kevelighan
Training Programme Director: Ros Goddard
Deputy Training Programme Director: Simon Leeson
School Manager: Zoe Dummett

College Tutors:

Name

Email

Location

Fran Hodge

Frances.S.Hodge@wales.nhs.uk

Singleton Hospital

Aditi Miskin

Aditi.Miskin@wales.nhs.uk

Princess of Wales

Roopam Goel

roopam.goel@wales.nhs.uk

Glangwili Hospital

Naraimha Swamy

Narasimha.N.Swamy@wales.nhs.uk

Royal Glamorgan

Deb Sanyal

Debashish.Sanyal@wales.nhs.uk

Withybush Hospital

Makiya Ashraf

makiya.ashraf@wales.nhs.uk

Royal Gwent Hospital

Marion beard

Marion.Beard@wales.nhs.uk

UHW

Sujeewa Fernando

Sujeewa.Fernando@wales.nhs.uk

Wrexham Maelor Hospital

Hari Muppala

Hari.Muppala@wales.nhs.uk

Glan Clywd Hospital

Simon Leeson

Simon.Leeson@wales.nhs.uk

Ysbyty Gwynedd

 

Induction and Training Days

Obstetrics and Gynaecology induction for all ST1 and new ST3’s will be taking place on 13th September at Wrexham Maerlor. An invitation will be sent to you, so that you can sign up for the induction. If you think you should have received an invitation and haven’t, please email heiw.recruitment@wales.nhs.uk.

North Wales study day timetable

Date

Venue

Chair

Topics

23 Aug

Bangor

Sheethal Madari/ Sarah Pitts (Sheethal confirmed)

27 Sept

Wrexham

Ruth Roberts

25 Oct

Bangor

Asma Farrukh/ Arpana Jain (Arpana confirmed)

22 Nov

Glan Clwyd

Hari Muppala

24 Jan 2020

Glan Clwyd

Hari Muppala

28 Feb

Combined with S Wales (hosted in S Wales)

Henry Cole

  • Management of reduced fetal movements
  • Management of prolonged pregnancy
  • Benign ovarian cysts
  • Fibroids
  • Thyroid disease in pregnancy

27 Mar

Bangor

Dr Rieck/ Dr Clark

  • Paediatric and adolescent gynae day

(Fetal growth restriction, Liver disease in pregnancy*

Intra-uterine infection, Teamworking, leadership, prioritising labour ward problems too be re-scheduled).

https://www.eventbrite.co.uk/e/paediatric-and-adolescent-gynaecology-study-day-27032020-tickets-67505016321

24 Apr

Wrexham

Dr Das

  • Sexual health risk assessment
  • Antepartum haemorrhage
  • Psychiatric disorders in pregnancy – anxiety/ depression, bipolar affective disorder, schizophrenia and postnatal depression

22 May

Bangor

Mr Peevor

Laparoscopic teaching day

https://www.eventbrite.co.uk/e/north-wales-laparoscopic-teaching-day-22052020-tickets-67507088519

26 June

Combined with S Wales  (hosted in N Wales)

Sujeewa Fernando

Start 10.30

Finish 3.30

Evening social event.

 

The study day timetable for South Wales for the next training year will be uploaded soon, along with links to Eventbrite.

Please note that you must sign up to all study days that you can attend through Eventbrite, failure to do so will be fed back to College Tutors.

Taking Time Out of Programme

Trainees who want to see the world, or experience working abroad may feel the only time they can do this is between Foundation and Specialty Training. This is of course an option, however the School of O&G is supportive in cases where trainees wish to take time out of the O&G training programme.

There are certain times within the training programme when it is easier to take time out. We suggest trainees plan this carefully and consider taking time out between their ST1 and 2 posts, if they have passed part 1 MRCOG, or between their ST4 and 5 posts if they have passed part 2 MRCOG.

You can find information from Wales deanery on OOP on this site or visit the Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists (RCOG) for information specific to obstetrics and gynaecology.

Sub Specialty Training in O&G

We offer opportunities for sub-specialty training in the following areas:

Key Links

Sub Spec training
ATSMs
TWOGs

Key Documents/ Policies:

OOP policy
Maternity leave documents
LTFT information

Back to top