Medicine

Implementation of the new Internal Medicine Stage 1 training Curriculum. 

The Internal Medicine (IM) stage 1 curriculum was approved by the GMC on 8 December 2017 and will replace Core Medical Training (CMT) from August 2019. The curriculum, trainee FAQs and implementation guidance are available on the JRCPTB website.  The Wales Deanery team are currently working closely with all Health Boards across Wales to ensure we delivery an excellent training programme.  If you have any enquiry about this or CMT, please contact the School Manager Mrs Hilary Williams at Williamsh3@cf.ac.uk

FAQ's: We have created the following FAQs to assist with any enquries:  Please see below

Key Leads across Wales include:

Lead/Health Board

Name

Contact E-mail

Lead for all Wales IM

Dr Shaun Smale

Shaun.Smale@wales.nhs.uk

Deanery Specialty Training Manager

Mrs Hilary Williams

Williamsh3@cf.ac.uk

Cwm Taf & ABMU Training Programme Director

Dr Vik Lodhi

Vikas.Lodhi@wales.nhs.uk

Cwm Taf – IM Lead

Dr Robin Martin

Robin.Martin@wales.nhs.uk

Cwm Taf - Royal Glamorgan

Dr James Berrill

James.Berrill@Wales.nhs.uk

Cwm Taf Prince Charles

Dr Jo Morris

Joanne.Morris@Wales.nhs.uk

ABMU HB - Morriston

Dr David Price

David.Price@wales.nhs.uk

ABMU - Singleton

Dr Chris Hudson

Chris.Hudson@Wales.nhs.uk

ABMU – Service Manager

Mrs Katie Pearce

Katie.Pearce@wales.nhs.uk

Velindre Hospital

Dr Mick Button

Mick.Button@Wales.nhs.uk

Cardiff & Vale; Velindre and Aneurin Bevan Training Programme Director

Dr Inder Singh

Inder.Singh@Wales.nhs.uk

Hywel Dda – All sites & Training Programme Director

Dr Lena Izzat

Lena.Izzat@Wales.nhs.uk

Cardiff & Vale HB

To Be Confirmed

 

Aneurin Bevan – Royal Gwent

Dr Tom Cozens

Thomas.Cozens@Wales.nhs.uk

Aneurin Bevan – Royal Gwent

Dr Murali Hegde

Murali.Hegde@Wales.nhs.uk

Aneurin Bevan – Nevill Hall

To Be Confirmed

 

Betsi Cadwaladr UHB - Wrexham

Dr Anthony Dixon

Anthony.Dixon@Wales.nhs.uk

Betsi Cadwaladr UHB – Ysbyty Gwynedd

Dr Martin Royle

Martin.Royle@Wales.nhs.uk

Betsi Cadwaladr UHB – Ysbyty Glan Clwyd

Dr Sangmitra Chakrabarti

Sangamitra.chakrabarti@Wales.nhs.uk

Betsi Cadwaladr UHB – Training Programme Director

Dr Siva Shrikanth

Siva.shrikanth@Wales.nhs.uk

Betsi Cadwaladr UHB – IM Assistant

Dr Muhammed Murtaza

Muhammed.Murtaza@wales.nhs.uk

   

 

 

Medicine is a specialty that offers an incredibly diverse range of training opportunities. To make the most of these opportunities we offer a quality assured programme that starts by providing a solid grounding in medicine.

This leads on to a number of distinct strands designed to provide the training opportunities and direction needed to get the most out of a career in hospital medicine. These are:

  • Core Medical Training or Acute Care Common Stem (Acute medicine) - Medicine in co-operation with the ACCS Lead.
  • Higher Training in Medicine - Wales offers 24 sub-specialites of Medicine.

Each group of trainees is supervised by a Specialty Training Committee (STC).

Working with these committees we:

  • Organise training programmes in accordance with GMC requirements
  • Recruit and select trainees
  • Ensure that there is an appropriate induction to the training programme for all new trainees
  • Support the provision and use of the e-portfolio by both trainees and their educational supervisors
  • Work with local lead educators (Faculty Leads, Course Organisers, College Tutors) to ensure that each post in a programme provides high quality experience
  • Ensure that that regular educational supervision is provided
  • Ensure that all educational supervisors have received appropriate training (including teaching skills, appraisal and assessment skills and equality and diversity training) for their role as educators and assessors
  • Ensure that trainees have access to well-informed and appropriate careers information, advice and counselling
  • Are proactive in the identification of trainees needing additional help or guidance and see that remedial action is taken
  • Monitor assessment of training including Annual Reviews of Competency Progression (ARCPs) and Penultimate Year
  • Assessments (PYAs)

We report to the Postgraduate Dean and we also relate to the Joint Royal Colleges Postgraduate Training Board (JRCPTB) and its Specialty Advisory Committees (SACs), mainly through the Royal College of Physicians of London.

Head of School

This position is currently vacant, however, we have three Interim Associate Heads of School:

Dr John Butler, Dr Rhian Morse and Dr Shaun Smale are all Interim Associate Heads of Schools, you can contact them at:

Shaun: Shaun.Smale@wales.nhs.uk

John: John.Butler@Wales.nhs.uk

Rhian: Rhian.Morse@Wales.nhs.uk

What to do next

For further information contact us to organise a visit or an informal chat.

 

 

 

Related downloads: 
Back to top